in shock.

What I forgot to mention was that on Tuesday I had my meeting with the managing director of accommodation, about the whole bike thing. I explained that I thought the way he handled the situation under the circumstances was the fairest way, but those circumstances shouldn’t have been there in the first place. I pointed out that the website guarantees in writing a bike to international students. He denied it, and said the website hadn’t been changed. He did genuinely seem to not have a clue what I was referring to, so I let it slide. I put forward a couple of proposals and we discussed a few ideas. It looks like the plan of action will be to install loan bikes, similar to the Boris bikes in London. I said this works in the long term, but he needed to organise a short term solution while the planning and installation of that system takes place. He agreed, but wasn’t sure how to do it. We sort of left it at that.

That evening, I went to the meeting for the excursions club. It took place in a lecture theatre, and it was packed. People were sitting on the floor, on the stairs, standing in the doorways, standing just outside so they could listen. Crazy popular. I signed up then and there, it’s such an absolute bargain. $60 for rental all year of surfboards, wetsuits, kayaks, paddleboards, and camping stuff. All the staff are student volunteers who just love going out and doing stuff, so every week there are loads of events going on which you can join for free: paintballing, sunrise surfs, day kayaks, camping trips to stargaze. It all sounds so frigging idyllic. I’ve already signed up for loads of things, I’m so psyched to get involved!

Yesterday, I kicked off the day with a swim. It was so fantastic to get back in the pool. I plugged my tunes in and away I went. Swimming outside in the sunshine is the nicest experience. It was such a refreshing start to the day, and it put me in a great mood.
IMG_8073.JPG
On my return to accommodation, I bumped into the managing director. He apologised, saying he’d double checked the website and seen that in a different part of it I was right, there was a written statement about the promise of bikes for international students. He’s since changed it, but it was nice to get that acknowledgment and apology. He also offered me a bike. Not a new one, one of the old ones that he was giving away to internationals in the lottery. It’s the bottom of the heap, but I don’t even care, I have a bike! Cue even better mood.

My only class yesterday was Greek Tragedy, which was really interesting. Not many people seem to speak up when the professor asks a question, which is odd because I’d been told by so many previous study abroad students that it’s so much more participation based, and it’s not one of those huge 700 person lectures, there are probably about 50 people in there. I found myself answering most of the questions, and it was quite sweet to see people turn around in wonder at my magical accent again and again.

Earlier in the day I’d signed up to go surfing (as you do) with a really hot instructor (not my only motivation I promise) at 5. A rumour spread like wildfire, however, which disrupted that plan entirely.

Jack Johnson.

One of my favourite musicians. Here. At my campus. Doing a free set, as part of the memorial concert for the horrible shootings that took place in May. I could not believe it. I was just so overwhelmed. I’ve loved this guy’s music since as long as I can remember. I’d been trying to see him at festivals for years. And he was here. For free. On my doorstep. In the sunshine. What. I practically ran to campus.

The whole memorial was brilliant. The place was packed with students listening under the palm trees in the evening sun. Everyone was so respectful, and the speeches were lovely.
IMG_7999.JPG
And Jack Johnson was, of course, beyond amazing. He and his band attended UCSB, back in the day. For each song he gave a little bit of discourse about where he’d written and when and why, and to hear those stories and know exactly where he was referring to was so special. I could not have been happier at how the whole afternoon panned out. I was speechless. If I have had this many amazing things happen in the first two weeks, just think how much time I have ahead of me to experience even more fantastic things!IMG_7981.JPGIMG_7982.JPGIMG_7995.JPG

Leave a comment